Principal Investigator

Claude Perreault


Subscribe to the newsletter

Trained as a hematologist and an immunogeneticist, Dr. Claude Perreault has been a Principal Investigator at the Institute since 2005 and is in charge of its immunobiology research laboratory. He is a Professor in the Faculty of Medicine of the Université de Montréal and was a practicing clinician until 2018, at the Maisonneuve-Rosemont Hospital, where he created the histocompatibility laboratory and founded the bone marrow transplant unit.

Member of the Canadian Academy of Health Sciences, Dr. Claude Perreault has received the Acfas Léo-Pariseau prize (2011), the Michel-Sarrazin Award (2015) of the Club de recherches cliniques du Québec and the Bernhard Cinader Award of the Canadian Society for Immunology (2017).

Principal Investigator, Immunobiology Research Unit, IRIC

Professor, Department of Medicine, Faculty of Medicine, Université de Montréal

Research unit on immunobiology

Marcelle-Coutu Pavilion, 1306-9

Phone (office)
(514) 343-6111, ext. 6126
(514) 343-7780


Claude Perreault and his team study the cells governing the function of the immune system, called “T lymphocytes”, in order to understand and improve the function of the immune system. One of the aims of his research is to create a cancer vaccine and prevent the ageing of the immune system.

Research topics


Awards and distinctions

  • Till and McCulloch Lectureship Award, Canadian Blood and Marrow Transplant Group, 2019

  • Bernhard Cinader Award, Canadian Society for Immunology, 2017

  • Professor “au mérite de carrière” - Department of Medicine, Université de Montréal, 2016

  • Michel-Sarrazin Award, Club de recherches cliniques du Québec, 2015

  • Distinguished member, Association des Médecins Hématologues et Oncologues du Québec, 2013

  • Léo-Pariseau Award, Association francophone pour le savoir, 2011

  • Fellow, Canadian Academy of Health Sciences, 2010

  • Canada Research Chair in Immunobiology, 2004–2018

  • Murray Margarit Memorial Award, Leukemia and Lymphoma Society of Canada, 2009

  • See all awards