Principal Investigator

Guy Sauvageau

Molecular Genetics of Stem Cells

Subscribe to the newsletter

Hematologist at Maisonneuve-Rosemont Hospital, Dr. Guy Sauvageau is the founding Investigator of IRIC. After graduating from medical school, he earned a Master’s in Immunology-Virology from the Université de Montréal and a Ph.D. in Experimental Medicine from the University of British Columbia while a member of Keith Humphries’ laboratory.

He founded his own laboratory in 1996 at the Montreal Clinical Research Institute and joined IRIC in 2003. He served as Scientific Director of IRIC from 2003 to 2013 and as CEO from 2007 to 2014. He is the leader of the Leucegene Project, an initiative that brings together several Quebec Investigators for the purpose of improving the characterization of acute myeloid leukemia and developing new therapies for the disease. He is also the Scientific Founder and CEO of ExCellThera, a biotechnology company that develops new methods for the culture of blood stem cells for therapeutic purposes.

Principal Investigator, Molecular Genetics of Stem Cells Research Unit, IRIC

Professor, Department of Medicine, Faculty of Medicine, Université de Montréal

Hematologist, Stem Cell Transplant Centre, Department of Hematology, Maisonneuve-Rosemont Hospital

Scientific Advisor, Quebec Leukemia Cell Bank

Scientific Founder and CEO, ExCellThera

Research unit on molecular genetics of stem cells

Pavillon Marcelle-Coutu, 1343-1355 (1371)

Phone (office)
(514) 343-7134
(514) 343-7780

Molecular Genetics of Stem Cells

The research work carried out in the Sauvageau lab focuses on the study of hematopoietic stem cells (HSCs) and acute myeloid leukemia (AML).

Research topics


Awards and distinctions

  • Fellow of the Royal Society of Canada, 2018

  • McCulloch Price, International Society for Stem Cell Research, 2016

  • Léo-Pariseau Award, Association francophone pour le savoir, 2015

  • Radio-Canada’s and La Presse Scientist of the Year, 2014

  • Till and McCulloch Award, Stem Cell Network of Canada, 2009

  • Member of Canadian Academy of Health Sciences, 2008

  • Stohlman Scholar Award, Leukemia Lymphoma Society, 2007

  • Till and McCulloch Award, International Society of Hematology, 2006

  • See all awards