Principal Investigator

Michel Bouvier

Molecular Pharmacology

Subscribe to the newsletter

Michel Bouvier obtained his Ph.D. in Neurological Sciences from the Université de Montréal in 1985. Following postdoctoral studies in the laboratory of Robert J. Leftkowitz – 2012 Nobel Prize for Chemistry – at Duke University, he joined the Department of Biochemistry of the Université de Montréal in 1989 and became chairman of the Department between 1997 and 2005.

In 2005, he joined IRIC where he has been Chief Executive Officer since 2014. Over the course of his career, he has contributed to the development of the drug discovery sector in Québec, notably by taking part in the creation of Institute for Research in Immunology and Cancer (IRICoR), the Groupe de recherche universitaire sur le médicament (GRUM) and the Réseau Québécois de recherche sur les médicaments (RQRM). Michel Bouvier also holds a Canada Research Chair in Cellular Signalling and Molecular Pharmacology since 2001.

Chief Executive Officer, IRIC

Principal Investigator, Molecular Pharmacology Research Unit, IRIC

Professor, Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Medicine, Faculty of Medicine, Université de Montréal

Pavillon Marcelle-Coutu, 3343/3355 (1306-3)

Phone (office)
(514) 343-6319
(514) 343-7780

Molecular Pharmacology

Michel Bouvier and his team study G-protein coupled receptors (GPCRs), a family of proteins that play a key role in controlling many biological processes and that make up a prime target for developing new drugs.

Research topics


Awards and distinctions

  • Knight of the Ordre national du Québec, 2022

  • Killam Prize in Health Sciences, 2021

  • Wilder-Penfield Award Gouvernement du Québec, 2017

  • Julius Axelrod Award in Pharmacology, American Society for Pharmacology and Experimental Therapeutics, 2017

  • Fellow, Académie des sciences de la Société Royale du Canada, 2014

  • Senior Investigator Award - Canadian Society for Molecular Biosciences, 2012

  • Adrien-Pouliot Award. Association francophone pour le savoir, 2011

  • Michel-Sarrazin Award. Club de Recherches Clinique du Québec, 2010

  • Alfred B. Grossman Award of the EJLB and Quebec Heart and Stroke Foundation, 2003 and 2006

  • Léo-Pariseau Award. Association francophone pour le savoir, 2006

  • Fellow Canadian Academy of Health Sciences, 2006

  • Canada Research Chair in Signal Transduction and Molecular Pharmacology Canadian Institute for Advanced Research, 2001-2022

  • Hans Selye Chair/Bristol-Myers Squibb, Faculty of Medicine, Université de Montréal, 1997-2005

  • Merck-Frosst award. Canadian Society of Biochemistry and Molecular and Cell Biology, 1997

  • Young Investigator. Quebec Hypertension Society, 1997

  • Young Investigator Award. Club de Recherches Cliniques du Québec, 1994

  • Joe Doupe Young Investigator award. Canadian Society for Clinical Investigations, 1993

  • Jonathan Ballon Award, Quebec Heart Foundation, 1989

  • See all awards